ADVANCING RESEARCH, IMPROVING EDUCATION

National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research Webcast

Documenting Disparities in Obesity and Disability
December 3, 2009, 2:00pm Central

Registration is open now


You are invited to a webcast hosted by the National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research (NCDDR).

WHAT: Documenting Disparities in Obesity and Disability

WHEN: Thursday, December 3, 2009. 2:00 PM–3:30 PM (Central)

The 90-minute webcast will begin at 3:00pm Eastern; 2:00pm Central; 1:00pm Mountain; 12:00pm Pacific; 11:00am Alaska; 9:00am Hawaii. The webcast is presented in collaboration with the Independent Living Research Utilization (ILRU) program at Memorial Hermann|TIRR.

Webcast Registration (no fee to participate):
http://survey.sedl.org/efm/wsb.dll/s/1g71


ABOUT THE WEBCAST:

The NCDDR Community of Practice on Research Quality will host a webcast on December 3, 2009 for NIDRR grantees and other individuals interested in research on disparities in obesity rates and consequences experienced by people with disabilities. This webcast is the first of a two-part series on disparities research focusing on the disparities in obesity experienced by people with disabilities, potential consequences of those disparities, and efforts to include disability as a diversity and equity factor in federal and community health-promotion programs. Part 2 will focus on strategies for addressing these disparities and improving the quality and visibility of disparity and inequities research.


ABOUT THE PRESENTERS:

James Rimmer, Ph.D., is Professor in the Department of Disability and Human Development, Adjunct Professor in the School of Public Health and Department of Bioengineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago, and Professor in the in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine and Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. He is Director of two federally funded Centers, the National Center on Physical Activity and Disability (funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, www.ncpad.org) and the Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center on Exercise Physiology and Recreational Technologies for Persons with Disabilities (funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, www.rectech.org).

Margaret L. Campbell, Ph.D., is a Senior Scientist for Planning and Policy Support with the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education. Her primary responsibilities involve serving as a program officer and providing scientific direction for strategic planning and priority development, particularly in the areas of aging with disability, technologies for successful aging, health disparities, and research capacity-building. Dr. Campbell also serves as a representative from the Department of Education to the: Federal Interagency Workgroup (FIW) for National Health Objectives related to Healthy People 2020, chaired by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.


HOW TO PARTICIPATE:

Please register here. There is no fee to attend. You may submit questions along with your registration. You will receive a confirmation email with instructions on how to attend the online event. For those who cannot attend the live webcast, a recording and transcript will be archived on the NCDDR website. For more information, contact Brenda Lightfoot by email: brenda.lightfoot@sedl.org or call 800-266-1832.

We hope you will join us on Thursday, December 3, 2009!


This webcast is supported through the National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research (NCDDR), funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), part of the U.S. Department of Education. It is supported in part by Independent Living Research Utilization (ILRU). The opinions and views expressed are those of the presenters and no endorsement by the funding agency should be inferred.

NIDRR Project Number: H133A060028

To ask questions or comment, please e-mail: webcast@ncddr.org

SEDL
Disability Research to Practice
4700 Mueller Blvd.
Austin, TX 78723-3081
Phone: 800-266-1832
Fax: 512-476-2286


National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research. SEDL: Advancing Research, Improving Education